Board of Directors

Michael Mell
Mr. Michael Yake Mell

Non-Executive Director
Appointed on 13 December 2018
Chairman of HR & Remuneration Committee

Mr. Michael Mell is the Founder and Managing Director of Mell Research and Marketing Consultants Limited (MRMC). He also serves as a Director of People’s Micro Bank Limited, a subsidiary of NDB and as Chairman of Small and Medium Enterprises Corporation (SMEC).
Mell is a prominent researcher, pollster, author and publisher in PNG. Through his leadership, MRMC in 2017 launched its maiden issue of The Mell Review Magazine. Mell has a Bachelor’s Degree in Economics and a Master’s Degree in Business Administration, both attained from the University of Papua New Guinea. He is a member of PNG Institute of Directors.

Darrel Seeto
Mr. Darrell Patrick Seeto

Deputy Chairman
Non-Executive Director
Appointed on 13 December 2018
Chairman of Lending Committee

Mr. Darrell Seeto has 25 years’ experience in retail and commercial banking, corporate finance, debt and equity capital markets including equity and FX derivatives across international markets. Having worked his entire career in various preeminent financial institutions such as NAB Limited, Ord Minnet Securities, JP Morgan, Salmon Smith Barney the Investment Banking arm of Citigroup and Macquarie Bank in Australia.

Darrell held roles at JP Morgan as a Vice President in Wealth Management Division before being promoted to a Senior Vice President at Citigroup and a Division Director at Macquarie Bank Ltd. Currently Darrell is a Senior Adviser at the privately owned Australian firm, Shaw and Partners.

Darrell holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Commerce (Accounting) from the University of New South Wales and Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance from the Australian Securities Institute of Australia. He is a certified accountant, a senior associate with the Australian Institute of Bankers and a master practitioner member of the Stockbrokers & Financial Advisers Association of Australia. He is also a member of PNG Institute of Directors.

Tauvasa Tanuvasa
Mr. Tauvasa Tanuvasa Chou-Lee

Non-Executive Director
Appointed on 15 February 2017

Mr. Tauvasa Tanuvasa was recently appointed as the Solicitor General of Papua New Guinea with the Department of Justice & Attorney General. He is a lawyer by profession since 2005 and is also a Provisionally Accredited Mediator. He is an experienced Civil and Non-Criminal Court Room Lawyer since 2005.

Tanuvasa holds, among others, Bachelor’s Degree in Law with Honours from the University of Papua New Guinea, Master of Laws specializing in Government and Commercial Law from the Australian National University, Graduate Certificate in Governance and Public Policy (GCGPP) from University of Queensland, Prime Minister’s Pacific Australia (PMPA) Award Awardee and USA International Visitors Leadership Program (IVLP) Awardee. He is a member of PNG Law Society, Legal Training Institute, PNG Institute of Directors and a member of South Pacific Lawyers Association.

Graham King
Mr. Graham King

Non-Executive Director
Appointed on 9 June 2015

Mr. Graham King is a career agriculturalist who worked in Papua New Guinea for 35 years. He has worked in the oil palm industry as an Agronomist with PNGOPRA from 1996- 2000 and in plantation management at Higaturu Oil Palms from 2000-2007 and from 2008 he was the General Manager of Hargy Oil Palms Ltd until his retirement mid this year. Prior to joining the oil palm industry he was a research agronomist with the PNG Department of Agriculture and Livestock specializing in subsistence food production. Graham is also a director of a number of PNG companies and Associations including Hargy Oil Palms Ltd, National Development Bank, Oil Palm Industry Corporation and PNG Oil Palm Research Association.

Graham has experience in managing the human and physical resources necessary for initiation and coordination of agricultural business in diverse geographical locations. He has a Bachelor in Applied Science (Hort. Tech) University of Queensland – Gatton College. And is a member of PNG Institute of Directors.

Moses Liu
Mr. Moses Liu

Managing Director
Executive Director since 2012

Mr. Moses Liu was appointed by the NEC as the Managing Director of National Development Bank Limited (NDB) on 19 August 2014. He is the Chairman of NDB’s subsidiary, NDB Investment Limited, a Director of Kare Kare Investments Ltd and Director of Hela Investment Limited.
He possesses extensive experience in senior financial management roles in the private sector. He is professionally qualified with a Master of Business Administration (Accounting/Financial Management), UNE, NSW, Australia, has a Bachelor of Technology in Accounting from PNG University of Technology and is a Certified Practising Accountant.

Moses is a Certified Practicing Accountant of Papua New Guinea and Australia and a member of the PNG Institute of Directors.

Philip Isu
Mr. Philip Isu

Non-Executive Director
Appointed on 13 December 2018
Chairman of Audit Risk & Compliance Committee

Phillip Magewa Isu has over 20 years’ experience working in the Financial Sector in PNG. Over ten of those years in the senior management positions. Over 20 years’ experience working in the Financial Sector in PNG and in senior management positions in both public sector and private sector. He was also a Director on a number of PNG companies.

He holds a Masters degree in Business Administration from RMIT University in Melbourne-Australia, Bachelors degree in Economics from the University of PNG. He also has Diploma in Economic Policy Analysis from the National Research Institute of PNG, Certificate in Development Economics from Administrative College in PNG and Certificate in Development Economics from International Development Centre in Japan.

Phillip is a Fellow with the Australian Institute of Management (FAIM) and a Member of PNG Institute of Directors. In July 2019, Mr. Isu completed the International Company Directors Course conducted by Australian Institute of Company Directors. He passed the assessment requirements set by AICD and was awarded the Graduate of Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD).

Robert Leo
Mr. Robert Leo

Non-Executive Director
Appointed on 13 December 2018
Chairman of Tender Committee

Mr. Robert Leo is the Principal of Leo Lawyers and has been in private practice for over 20 years. He was formerly the Corporate Secretary for the Consumer Affairs Council. He was appointed by NEC as Director of the National Development Bank Limited effective from 13 December 2018. Robert is also a Director of Pu’u Management Consultants Limited.

Robert is one of the most experienced and senior lawyers practicing in civil litigation in PNG. He has a Bachelor’s Degree in Law with Honours from the University of Papua New Guinea. He is a member Papua New Guinea Law Society, Port Moresby Chamber of Commerce and a member of PNG Institute of Directors.